math

The good and the bad

Some weeks I feel like the windshield, and some weeks I feel like the bug. This was a bug week so I’ve decided to find some wins to focus on. We worked hard last week, and mostly it showed. Today, Monday, I was so glad I spent the weekend reflecting on what had gone right last week instead of staying stuck in a negative reflection cycle.

Each of the above pictures shows a moment I captured on my camera because something was going well. I had a lot I left on the camera roll too. I started taking photos during math because it can be difficult to document student work in the moment. My phots help me go back and document later. I often take videos too so I can spend some time reflecting on conversations later. It helps me think about my students. It helps me refine my questioning and conferring practice, too.

Not every day at school feels like a win. Lots of them feel really hard. But there’s good to be found if I look hard enough.

Leave a comment